Thursday, June 13, 2024
HomeSportsCricketPCB Contemplates Alterations to Babar and Rizwan's Batting Order for New Zealand...

PCB Contemplates Alterations to Babar and Rizwan’s Batting Order for New Zealand T20 Series

Team management and selectors agreed on giving rest to Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan, say sources
  • Saim Ayub likely to play as opener either with Babar or Rizwan.
  • If Babar opens innings, then Rizwan will play one down.
  • Consensus developed in resting star duo in couple of matches.

KARACHI: In a bid to give more chances to younger players ahead of the T20 World Cup 2024, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is mulling changes in the batting order during the New Zealand series, sources told on Thursday.

They said the group the board and selectors have consented to give opportunity to Saim Ayub to play as an opener either with Babar Azam or Mohammad Rizwan.

That’s what the insiders added on the off chance that Babar opens the innings, Rizwan will make light of one. Notwithstanding, that’s what the sources said on the off chance that Rizwan opens the innings, Babar will play at number three.

Agreement has likewise been created in resting the star team in several matches of the series, they said.

The sources said there are ideas to play Fakhar Zaman at number four followed by Iftikhar Ahmed and Azam Khan.

Rizwan will do handling while Azam Khan will keep the wickets.

The Babar-Rizwan pair has been opening for Pakistan for quite a while and has won various counterparts for the nation however there were worries about whether to hold similar request or allow an opportunity to young people.

Keeping in view, the PCB enlisted a few new players in the crew for the New Zealand series drove by new commander Shaheen Afridi.

The 17-part crew likewise incorporates adolescents Abbas Afridi, Saim Ayub, Haseebullah Khan and Sahibzada Farhan.

Damaging player Azam Khan is additionally important for the crew, alongside any semblance of Fakhar Zaman, Babar and Rizwan.

The T20 World Cup is booked for June one year from now and every one of the groups are currently preparing for the ICC competition which will be played in West Indies and the US.


Shaheen Afridi (c), Aamir Jamal, Abbas Afridi, Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan (wk), Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (wk), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mojammad Wasim Jnr, Sahibzada Farhan, Saim Ayub, Usama Mir, Zaman Khan.

Schedule of Pakistan’s 2024 tour to New Zealand

First match: New Zealand vs Pakistan, 12 January, Auckland

Second match: New Zealand vs Pakistan, 14 January, Hamilton

Third match: New Zealand vs Pakistan, 17 January, Dunedin

Fourth match: New Zealand vs Pakistan, 19 January, Christchurch

Fifth match: New Zealand vs Pakistan, 21 January, Christchurch.

Follow us

Latest Articles