Friday, July 19, 2024
HomeSportsCricketICC Reveals Schedule for 2024 T20 World Cup

ICC Reveals Schedule for 2024 T20 World Cup

Tournament will kick off on June 1 with 55 matches scheduled in United States and West Indies

The International Cricket Council (ICC) Friday announced the much-awaited schedule for ICC T20 World Cup 2024 set to kick off on June 1 with Canada taking on hosts USA in a group A match scheduled to be held in Dallas.

Meanwhile, arch-rivals India and Pakistan will lock horns on June 9 at New York’s Eisenhower Park.

It is to be noted that the mega event will be played across two countries with the US and West Indies hosting a total of 55 matches between them.

The Venues in West Indies incorporate Barbados’ Kensington Oval, Trinidad’s Brian Lara Cricket Foundation, Guyana’s Provision Arena, Antigua’s Sir Vivian Richards Arena, St Lucia’s Darren Sammy Cricket Ground, and St Vincent’s Arnos Vale Arena.

In the mean time, in the US, three settings will have the games including New York’s Eisenhower Park, Florida’s Lauderhill, and Fabulous Grassland in Texas.

The Semi-finals of the occasion will be played on June 26 and 27 in Guyana and Trinidad, separately, while the World Cup last will occur in Barbados on June 29

Complete timetable of the World Cup

Pakistan’s schedule for T20 World Cup 2024

June 6: Pakistan vs USA, Dallas

June 9: Pakistan vs India, New York

June 11: Pakistan vs Canada, New York

June 16: Pakistan vs Ireland, Lauderhill

Groups for T20 World Cup 2024

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, United States

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

A total of 20 qualifying teams have been divided into four groups of five, from which the top two teams of every group will make their way to the Super eight round.

In that stage, qualifying groups will by and by be separated into two gatherings of four, from which the main two groups will advance toward the semi-last and afterward the champs will play the last.

This will be the initial time starting around 2010 that a T20 World Cup, which was won by Britain, will be facilitated in the West Indies.

Then again, this is the initial time an occasion as large as the World Cup will be facilitated by the US.

Britain are the reigning champs in the wake of securing the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia, beating Pakistan in the last.

Elevate Your Mind: Tawar-e-Pakistan’s Symphony of Updates.

Latest Articles